Blackburn Rovers: Rivalries renewed as Championship 2022/23 line-up confirmed

The Championship line-up for the 2022/23 season is complete after Nottingham Forest edged out Huddersfield in the play-off final.

With the League One play-off final having been played a week earlier, the Premier League relegation places confirmed on the final day of their season, the 24 teams plying their trade in the second tier have been confirmed.

Huddersfield will embark on a third successive season in the Championship after losing 1-0 in the final, with a Levi Colwill own goal in the first half proving decisive.

The Terriers had edged out Luton Town in their play-off match, while Forest, who finished the regular season in fourth, beat Sheffield United.

With Huddersfield, Luton and Sheffield United all staying in the second tier, they will join Middlesbrough, Rovers, Millwall, West Bromwich Albion, QPR, Coventry City, Preston North End, Stoke City, Swansea City, Blackpool, Bristol City, Cardiff City, Hull City, Birmingham City and Reading in maintaining their Championship status.

Forest joined Fulham and Bournemouth in winning promotion. Fulham made an immediate return to the top flight, with Bournemouth doing so at the second attempt, while Forest ended a 23-year exile to make it back to the Premier League.

Peterborough United were relegated in their first season back in the Championship, while Derby County’s two separate points deductions saw them drop down into League One. There they will be joined by Barnsley, the Oakwell side winning only six of their 46 league matches, having finished in the play-offs 12 months earlier.

So who are the six new teams to join the established 16?

Norwich City: They’re back again. The Canaries continue to yo-yo between divisions, winners of the Championship title in 2019 and 2021, relegated from the Premier League in 2020 and 2022.

The Canaries will hope to make it a hat-trick of promotions from the Championship, but will have to do without Daniel Farke following his dismissal in November. However, in Dean Smith, they have a manager with recent experience of getting out of the Championship having done so with Aston Villa in 2019.

Rovers did take a point off Norwich on their way to winning the title, drawing 1-1 at Carrow Road, having been beaten 2-1 at Ewood Park.

Watford: The Championship’s top two in 2020/21 were the Premier League’s bottom two this time around, as the Hornets, joined Norwich in being relegated.

They had three separate managers throughout the course of the season, and they will have a new man at the helm for next season, as Rob Edwards left Forest Green Rovers only days after their League Two title win to take the job at Vicarage Road.

Watford recorded two 3-1 wins over Rovers in 2020/21.

Burnley: A six-year stay in the top flight for the Clarets came to an end, defeat to Newcastle United and Leeds United ‘win at Brentford on the final day saw them relegated on the final day.

They too will be under new manager, with Mike Jackson having had a caretaker spell in charge following the departure of Sean Dyche, with the Clarets on the look-out for a new boss, with former Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany the heavy favorite after leaving Anderlecht.

While the sides met in the Carabao Cup in August 2017, next season’s match will be the first East Lancashire derby in a league meeting since March 2016, Rovers having not beaten their great rivals in the last seven attempts since March 2010.

Wigan Athletic: Another team who need little introduction, Rovers having been relegated, and then promoted, alongside the Latics in 2016/17 and 2017/18.

Leam Richardson’s side won the League One title to end a two-year stay in the third tier, and will be looking upwards on the back of their promotion.

Rovers’ FA Cup defeat in January meant it is now 11 games without a victory at the DW Stadium, a run they will be determined to break.

Rotherham United: While Norwich go up and down between Premier League and Championship, the Millers do the same with the second and third tiers.

Paul Warne earned his third promotion as Rotherham boss as they clinched second-place behind Wigan, also winning the Papa John’s Trophy.

Despite the Millers’ poor record at this level, the Rovers have won only one of their six trips to the New York Stadium, that being Shane Duffy’s winner in April 2016.

Sunderland: The Black Cats ended a four-year exile in League One with promotion in the play-offs as they beat Wycombe Wanderers, denying Gareth Ainsworth an immediate return to the Championship.

It is 10 years since Rovers and Sunderland were in the same division, their last league meeting coming in March 2012, with both having missed each other during their respective relegation campaigns.

Rovers have not won in their last five trips to the Stadium of Light, while in 2008/09 they made the trip no less than three times after being paired together in both cup competitions.

Take out a subscription …

Gain unlimited access to the Lancashire Telegraph website with a premium digital subscription with a one month FREE trial

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.